Skip to content

Woman dies in jail after being denied hospital treatment

March 30, 2012

Here we go again… I wonder how much news this will make. St. Louis single mother, Anna Brown, 29, was sitting in jail complaining of leg pain and instead was arrested when she refused to leave. After being arrested, she soon after died in the jail cell leaving her young kids behind. Below are clips from the story and my take on it. What will be yours?

Her mother, Dorothy Davis, received custody of Brown’s children on the condition that Brown couldn’t also live with them, and Brown’s home was condemned, the newspaper reported. She lived in four homeless shelters from May until September.

My take… If Brown was in financial trouble and her mother was willing to take care of the grandchildren, why wasn’t she able to take care of her own child too??? Why would the government create such a divisive stipulation? This sounds like the whole, “Woman only gets welfare if the man doesn’t live in the home” syndrome.

Brown went to three hospitals complaining of leg pain in the days leading up to her death, including her visit to St. Mary’s that led to her arrest for trespassing. She was wheeled out in handcuffs after a doctor said she was healthy enough to be locked up.

My take… Why would a doctor sanction locking up a physically ill person? How can we consciously criminalize people will illnesses? Blood is on this doctor’s hands!

A New Year’s Eve tornado in 2010 destroyed Brown’s home in north St. Louis home, the Post-Dispatch reported. She and her two children moved to Berkeley, a St. Louis suburb, and she lost her job at a sandwich shop soon afterward, the Post-Dispatch said.

My take… She didn’t create the tornado. Natural disasters can affect anyone. The government and community didn’t respond properly to this woman’s needs.

According to the Post-Dispatch, her utilities were shut off because she stopped paying her bills, and after a child welfare agent who visited the home in April found a feces-filled toilet, burn marks on the floor where she had lit fires to keep warm and other distressing signs, Brown was arrested for parental neglect.

My take… no parent would willingly and knowingly neglect their children. When there’s neglect, there’s depression, mental illness or substance abuse. It’s as simple as when there’s smoke, there’s fire. We have to stop being so judgmental of others symptoms and get to their real problems! Full story here: (http://usnews.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2012/03/29/10926817-hospital-mom-booted-from-er-to-die-in-jail-was-treated-appropriately)

This is my take… what’s yours?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Diva permalink
    March 30, 2012 2:08 pm

    I think your point by point assessments of the matter is accurate and on point.

    My chime is this; the poor you shall have with you always and what should be equally as stable is people that have compassion and care.

    This is why inspiring our children to get an education is important, this is why we must push to have representation in every aspect of society, we need doctors, lawyers, social workers , advocates, dispatchers, policy makers, teachers etc. etc. etc.

    There has to be a voice and an action motivated to do the right thing across the board. Like someone said our children are the future but we (parents, grandparents etc.) are right now. Pell grants are available for the older generations as well as the younger .

    We must see the need, to get involved, get educated get employed or volunteer and make an impact; then and only then will we begin to see the change we proclaim we desire to see. This story is very tragic.

  2. March 30, 2012 10:27 pm

    This doctor and the officers who killed her should get the DEATH PENALTY!

  3. March 30, 2012 11:32 pm

    First I would like to say, I was very outraged when I watched this video earlier this week. The healthcare systems really need to change how they govern who and what reason medical care is given. If our government can spend millions of dollars to fight some wars I personally don’t feel needed to be fought, they surely can put some of that money in the healthcare system to be used by hospital facilities giving emergency care to those not having insurance and evident in need of immediate care. The doctor who evaluated her was a poor excuse for a doctor. Whether he shortchange her for thorough evaluation because he was stereotyping, color of her skin or just being lazy to someone with no money lead to the same results……her death.

    I passed out on the way to hospital after being released from having major surgery a month before. Anyway, a gentleman seen me collapsed in my car and got in my car and driven me to hospital. I was slumped over in a wheelchair and kept going in and out of conscious. I had money. I owned company in the mid 6 figures at the time, but because I was driven there by stranger and I couldn’t tell them who I was nor had my purse on me, I was looked at as person on welfare. Hospital attendants passed by me with excuses and all I could do was listen because when I came to, I was too weak to speak. After some time pass by, a surgeon came by and seen me slumped over and ask had I been looked at to one of the attendant. He did a quick evaluation looking at my stomach and realize I had a possible life threatening situation. After quickly sending me to the back for thorough evaluation, they put me in immediate surgery and saved my life. Had that surgeon not came by or been like the doctor that evaluated Anna Brown, that could had easily been me. I later learned that had I went too long about and hour of not getting that surgery, I would not be here writing this today. I thank God (Yahweh) for sending down an Angel.

    As Devin said. You can’t judge who someone else or what is going on because the color of their skin or stereotype cast them. But this is what happen with our people. We get typecast of who we are as a race in whole and not who we are individually or our circumstances. Great article Professor. 🙂

  4. April 1, 2012 10:00 pm

    First I would like to say, I was very outraged when I watched this video earlier this week. The healthcare systems really need to change how they govern who and what reason medical care is given. If our government can spend millions of dollars to fight some wars I personally don’t feel needed to be fought, they surely can put some of that money in the healthcare system to be used by hospital facilities giving emergency care to those not having insurance and evident in need of immediate care. The doctor who evaluated her was a poor excuse for a doctor. Whether he shortchange her for thorough evaluation because he was stereotyping, color of her skin or just being lazy to someone with no money lead to the same results……her death.

    I passed out on the way to hospital after being released from having major surgery a month before. Anyway, a gentleman seen me collapsed in my car and got in my car and driven me to hospital. I was slumped over in a wheelchair and kept going in and out of conscious. I had money. I owned company in the mid 6 figures at the time, but because I was driven there by stranger and I couldn’t tell them who I was nor had my purse on me, I was looked at as person on welfare. Hospital attendants passed by me with excuses and all I could do was listen because when I came to, I was too weak to speak. After some time pass by, a surgeon came by and seen me slumped over and ask had I been looked at to one of the attendant. He did a quick evaluation looking at my stomach and realize I had a possible life threatening situation. After quickly sending me to the back for thorough evaluation, they put me in immediate surgery and saved my life. Had that surgeon not came by or been like the doctor that evaluated Anna Brown, that could had easily been me. I later learned that had I went too long about and hour of not getting that surgery, I would not be here writing this today. I thank God (Yahweh) for sending down an Angel.

    As Devin said. You can’t judge who someone else or what is going on because the color of their skin or stereotype cast them. But this is what happen with our people. We get typecast of who we are as a race in whole and not who we are individually or our circumstances. Great article Devin 🙂
    .

  5. Acard permalink
    April 3, 2013 3:41 pm

    To clarify. She was sitting in a hospital to begin with, not the jail. You can’t arrest someone in jail and take them to jail.

Leave a Reply

