Skip to content

Delta honors Rev Joseph Lowery with his name on their jet

March 16, 2012

Progress?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2012 1:13 am

    Not at all…but I’ll keep my comments to myself on this one. smh

  2. March 17, 2012 10:23 am

    Delta is my airline. I have build sky miles and unless they are not going where I need to go, (like Hawaii) I will always fly them. I love how they treat the customers. This is my perspective from my own experiences.

    Saying that, It was honorable to have an event honoring Joseph E. Lowery 90th birthday announcing the 757 named of him displaying his signature on the aircraft. This shows that our civil rights leaders are being recognize for the part in the civil right movement. For Delta, I am sure this will bring more black patrons to fly their airlines. But I wouldn’t say its progress. The measure of progress is growth and development in whatever you are doing and trying to accomplish. The 757 ship number is not trackable either. No, its not a great deal to some but it would had be better if it would had been an aircraft that can be tracked on FA and on all Delta planes. LOL, I hope I am not being too picky about this. Maybe I am just thinking to big, but that would had sent out a better message of what the Civil Rights Movement mean and how important it is to continue to move forward as ALL people together as a whole. With what’s going on today in the political world, we need bigger ammunitions to send out and fight for our civil rights and most importantly being equally treated as a race and not be downgraded by others.

    All in all, this is a small step forward but we need bigger steps with greater impact.

    • March 17, 2012 10:25 am

      Please excuse my errors and typos. I am not feeling well at all but needed to comment. 🙂

  3. Diva permalink
    March 24, 2012 2:29 pm

    Dorena Da,

    I liked your interjections on the track-ability factor. I too can think of things that have come about in other areas of my own life that suggested progress and change and while it did glimmer with a splash of progress, when in true assessment I realized wow, how minimal was that, really?!

    This reality only propels me to keep digging, so, no you weren’t being picky just a realist. It doesn’t mean we don’t appreciate the positive strides that be; it is just we must keep pushing and never become content, with simply what is.

Leave a Reply

