Skip to content

Interruptors Confronts Gang Members

February 17, 2012

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2012 4:24 am

    This video is about two hours. I looked at about an hour of it and will finish the rest of it after I sleep. I watched this after getting off from work and doing paperwork. But even as tired and sleepy as I was, I couldn’t turn it off sooner than I needed to. It had me drawn. Drawn to how bad things are in chicago. It baffled me to see that the violence that I experience earlier in life while living in Charlotte in the 90’s hasn’t change to this day. Wow, why hasn’t things got better?
    To keep it short, as a Charlotte City Bus Operator, I ran across gangs and violence alot because when I was a rookie, I had to drive the worse routes. Dealing with low-income neighborhoods and the projects. Gang Members and Drug dealers use the city bus or cabs as their ride. They were too busy getting arrested all the time to keep their license. Anyway, I had few run ends with a few gangs, and always per my job description, had to control my route, rather it be myself or by calling police. Well, in the neighborhoods I drove for, Police would take too long, passengers got irritated because they were being held up. So I would had to become the mediator. There were times it got scary. But one time, I got sick and tired of this one gang member trying to take over my bus, as he stood up to fight another passenger on bus, I pulled bus over, walked towards back of bus and stood in front of passenger and told the gang member off. I blew my top. I was not constructed with what I had to say. In previous attempts to calm down gang members, I was constructed and show compassion, but that paticular day, I was not. After I embarressed the gang member, I went up front to call police to have him removed from bus. He threaten me but my regular male passengers and my co-pilot (passengers always sit up front talking with driver) would not let him harm me. I later had this guy disbard from riding the bus for a year. He threaten to get even with me. He did attmept to carry that out. He met me at the bus stop on my next to the last trip, 1130pm, in the bluff and as passengers got off bus, he was pointing gun at me. Everyone got down to floor, but I was in a frozen state of shock. He just stood there starring at me with gun pointing directly at me. After what seem like hour but only minutes, he ran off. A year later, still driving for Charlotte Transit, I seen him downtown. He apologize for wanting to kill me and told me that he changed. That night while he starred at me with gun in hand, he told me my words echoed in his head of what an a– he was acting like being so tough on bus. He also bought up how it was cool that I always stood up against them. He gave respect and became a protector against other gang members on my bus when his priveleges to ride was restored.
    Ms. Matthews is a tough cookie. She is very strong and courageous. It takes one, and with that one, many will follow. I got scare that night, and even though I turned this guy around, I was reluctant to stand up to gangs after that. I had 3 children to raise. But that is what is wrong with our community. We start something and when things get tough we retreat. I was young, newly divorce with children. I could had formed a team that believe in what I was wanting to accomplish but I didn’t. Ms. Matthews had put herself in the middle of fights and even got right up in their face. How can you not respect that? If we want to turn a situation, we have to be willing to be apart of the turning. You can’t depend on anyone else that the situation don’t affect because they, most of the time will not care. You/We have to depend on ourselves to make a difference. To be part of the difference. When Ms. Matthews was in the life her father got her in, I am glad she came out of it safely. She is a true soldier and the streets of Chicago needs someone like her. The dirty dozen I believe is what they called it. I apologize if I am wrong. But this group along with Matthews is really taking the solution to the streets, where the problem starts. I believe to end a problem, you have to takle where the problem starts. I am glad there are people who still care, not afraid and will do what they have to do to get their community back, decrease the violence and most importantly, become part of changing the way the gang members think. Just to stop a fight for that day, will only delay an unchanged man to fight for tomorrow. But change the way he thinks, you will prevent him from violence, hopefully forever.

    Thanks for sharing this Devin. Lets continue to get the message out. We don’t have to wait for NOBODY to take care of what is important to us. Btw, the answer to my questions at the end of my first paragraph. Things will get better when we, us black people, stop waiting for someone else to come and clean our own backyard. Stop the violence!

  2. February 18, 2012 5:07 pm

    I wrote an earlier comment. Perhaps it was too long. I do apologize if that was the case. But I did felt compelled to write again, because I do believe in what Ms. Matthews and the others in her group are doing.

    I myself endured gang members on one of my past jobs in my younger years. I too use my strong persuasion to keep the violence down. But one day, a gang member attempted to kill me after my interference. He later changed his way of thinking, from words that I spoke to him, and became my protector against other gang members on my job. He respected me. But that one incident kept me from doing anymore interference with gang members and assisting with keeping down the violence. That is what happens to us, we start something and when things get tough, we retreat.

    Ms. Matthews did not. She is a tough cookie with heart. Coming from the background she came from benefited her to relate, to be receive and to be respected by those around her. Her ability to show compassion but to capture a gang members attention long enough to plant a seed is talent, strength and who she is as a person and what she believe in. No, times got tough and she DID NOT retreat. Instead, she got right in the middle. I remember watching the video and being afraid but as I continue to watch, I knew she could handle herself well. I am glad she made it from her previous life unharmed. Chicago needs people like her and others. To prevent a mind from violence today, only ables him to create violence tomorrow. But to change the way he thinks, will hopefully prevent this man to not create violence forever.

    Thanks Devin for bringing awareness that, NO, we don’t need to wait for anyone to help. We only need our compassion, our perseverance and to believe in what we are doing and to follow through.

  3. February 20, 2012 11:43 am

    Thank You for sharing this Awesome video. This video is the real world. I have shared this video so others will get a chance to see Reality. We must take a stand within our selves to help bring our communities back to living. For every step we take we can get there. It takes the will, strength, and courage to make that happen.

  4. February 25, 2012 3:07 am

    I do believe in what Ms. Matthews and the others in her group are doing.
    I myself endured gang members in my younger years on a job I had. I too use my strong persuasion to keep the violence down. But one day, a gang member attempted to kill me after my interference. He later changed his way of thinking, from words that I spoke to him, and became my protector against other gang members on my job. He respected me. But that one incident did kept me from doing anymore interference with gang members . That is what happens to us, we start something and when things get tough, we retreat.
    Ms. Matthews did not. She is a tough cookie with heart. Coming from the background she came from surrounded by the lifestyle of her father, benefited her to relate, to be receive and to be respected by those around her. Her ability to show compassion but to capture a gang members attention long enough to plant a seed is talent, strength and who she is as a person and what she believe in. No, times got tough and she DID NOT retreat. Instead, she got right in the middle. I remember watching the video and being afraid for her, but as I continue to watch, I knew she could handle herself well. I am glad she made it from her previous life unharmed. Chicago needs people like her and others. To prevent a mind from violence today, only ables him to create violence tomorrow. But to change the way he thinks, will hopefully prevent this man to not create violence forever.
    Thanks Devin for bringing awareness that, NO, we don’t need to wait for anyone to help. We only need our compassion, our perseverance and to believe in what we are doing and to follow through.

    Things will get better when we, us black people, stop waiting for someone else to come and clean our own backyard. Stop the violence!

Leave a Reply

