Skip to content

I am sick of this Whitney portrayal!

February 12, 2012

By now we’ve all heard the tragic news that legendary singer Whitney Houston suddenly passed away on Saturday February 11th. It is tragic to us because of how many lives she’s touched and how young she was to have passed. She is one of our fallen sisters, but more importantly she is a fallen mother, daughter, cousin and more. To us, she is a singer.

We’ve all pretty much been impacted by her music while balancing her ability to handle superstardom. It’s not easy. It can be a very critical life that requires thick skin. Some of us stifle our talents and never share them with the world because, sometimes, of the discouragement our friends and family gives us, imagine strangers. Nonetheless, she chose to continue blessing us with her work. She was not only instrumental in selling CDs, concert tickets, and movies, she was also responsible for selling magazines, newspapers, and other media. So it is so disheartening to me to see how she is being handled and going down in history with these same outlets. Can we list her songs and not her wrongs? Her music helped us through difficult times when a loved one died or went through a divorce. She celebrated with us when we had marriages, graduations and birthday parties. She was there, now where are we?

All of a sudden, the loyalty is thrown to the wolves and the sales become the primary objective, even in her death. As I read the stories, commentaries and columns I get so angered by seeing how her iconic work is being eclipsed by her troubles. I don’t care that she abused drugs, so did Elvis. So what if she abused alcohol, so did President Bush. Yet, they are still revered. I don’t mean “so what” as in the abuse of drugs and alcohol isn’t a bad thing. They are. But that is a personal struggle that shouldn’t be taunted by anyone. It should be treated, not mistreated! Amy Winehouse didn’t get this level of smearing by the media and her career cannot be compared to Whitney’s. C’mon folks…

The black community should be outraged to action in this situation. The poor projection of blacks happens and we momentarily get angry, but what do we ever do with it? We go back to our lives until the next moment. We MUST have an active national competitive media that aggressively covers the black community in a way that does not continue to damage us. Whitney’s work stretches way beyond a few public snafus. And to be quite honest we are mostly depicted negatively because it increases their sales. We should see this as a crime when one of our fallen is smeared even in their death.

Do we sit by idly? We should not go on the attack and protest anyone. We should instead build or invest in our own. If it takes buying out the shares Comcast owns at TV One, using a collective collection of regular black folks, then that’s what we should do.

Listen, I am not going to go on pontificating. It is time we rebuild and be rewarded. This is “The Real Black Discussion!” But after we discuss, let’s not let our inaction become our disgrace…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Ken permalink
    February 13, 2012 6:35 pm

    Well said!

  2. February 13, 2012 7:09 pm

    So True !!!

  3. crystal kimble permalink
    February 13, 2012 7:16 pm

    I totally agree

  4. February 13, 2012 11:36 pm

    Professor Devin Thank You for this post, you are so on time. I will always Love Whitney and she will always be in my/our Hearts. The Arts is a powerful source for the human life. Why? because it helps us to see and hear all the beautiful things around us and reach into our Souls. From the first day I heard Whitney voice, it open my heart. There were times when I was at life low, and I would turn her music to my ear to bring me back to REALITY. I believe if many of our people would listen to the words of a song, and hear the story. You might just learn something in your life. Yes, the beat can turn your groove on, but the words sometimes can open up your Soul. I pray that one day, some one or one’s that have great leadership will reach down and plant the seed to REALITY. For all that’s reading this comment, when was the last time you touched a Soul? No matter, what other’s say about Whitney. I know in my heart and soul she touched my life and I never had the opportunity to met her…RIP My Angel, GOD makes no mistakes…Peace and Love Always!!!

  5. February 14, 2012 2:41 am

    Loved the Idea of ‘buying out the shares that Comcast owns at TVOne,’ not only do we help with the ‘solution,’ but we educate our selves and the next generations of what ‘real power is!’ Yes, it is tragic. Yes, my sister had some mis-steps, but we ALL have and will continue to do so, as long as we’re on this planetary sphere! Not just grace, beauty, brains and the true gift of singing, Whitney really did, “Have it All!”

  6. tho®nton permalink
    February 14, 2012 6:30 am

    Black folks, with GOD on our side, we’re the majority. If my people would only wake up.

  7. February 14, 2012 9:48 pm

    You heard my heart and knew what I was shouting out in silence. Thank you Devin for being my voice and voice for others who are sick and tired of seeing Whitney light being dimmed by the words of what troubled her soul. Yes we know she abuse drugs, so what. We all had some struggles and as black people knew someone or had family members that abuse drugs. This disease has no boundaries so yes it affects the white people too and the yellow people, purple people, the rich, the poor the medium. Its a disease that will take you and don’t care who you are and how much money or lack of money you have. If those who taunt drug abusers will get more educated on this subject, maybe their words would not be of critism (although they say they’re just reporting the facts), it will be more of awareness that drugs do kill and its a disease and a sickness once a person chooses to use.

    First, they don’t even know what the cause of death was yet. Why speculate? To get people to look at their show? Their news channel? Boost their ratings? Let it go! Let it go until you receive the facts and report with care if you must, but stop bringing down a woman that touched us all and given us so much through her talent and for sharing her
    gift and letting us being able to share her gift with those we love.

    I had a personal connection with Whitney. She was like a older sister to me. We both came from Newark, we have some things in common, strong women who masked our weakness, became strong, fought against odds to pull ourself from being under and will take on the world if we had to. We both lived in Alpharetta, GA at the same time, and we both experience struggles at the same time. I jumped for joy when I heard she went into rehab to deal with the demon that was possessing her. I wanted to reach out to her after she got out of rehab but I myself was going through physical rehab from a near fatal car accident I was involved in and was learning how to walk again. I was very, very distraught to find out my sister passed without me being able to reach out to her. I cried like a baby. Wanted my mother, danced to her music and cried again. She touched my heart. She touched my soul. Her spirit touched us all. In grieving for a love loss, no I don’t want to hear anything negative about her. Is that me being delusional, No it isn’t. I just want to deal with her passing without the negativity and sarcasm.

    Again, I say bravo to you Devin. I say Thank you. Thanking you for always having your heart in the right place when it matters most.

    Now like Ms. Brantley, I am also loving the idea of buying out the shares to Comcast. We as black people do we dare? Is it possible? Why sure it is. Can we do it? Yes we can. Lets us all spread the idea to others who may be seriously, SERIOUSLY interested in this. Its a great thought and wonderful idea. I will be checking for updates in hopes this wonderful idea becomes reality.
    When it does, I am on board!!!!!!!

  8. FRED ANDERSON permalink
    February 16, 2012 12:54 am

    I’m sick of it too.It’s as if a no other singer has ever died. man what bull. she was not a GOD.
    Just another human being.What’s the big deal,selling newspapers,tv radio news clips. .Enough already.Get a grip.

  9. Laura permalink
    February 24, 2012 1:29 am

    She was real…she didn’t try to hide her struggles or blame anyone else for them. She shared her gifts and talents with all of us and never failed to give thanks to God for them. Hopefully we can continue to remember her in the positive light that she left behind. I know she would have wanted us to learn from her mistakes; not dwell on them or magnify them.

Leave a Reply

