Skip to content

CNN commentator Roland Martin suspended indefinitely for anti-gay tweets

February 8, 2012


I like Roland’s views and guts to speak his mind. On Super Bowl Sunday, he made some remarks that came across as anti-day and offensive. Though he explained that the remarks against socccer play David Bekham were about his sport and not sexuality, he still found himself getting suspended by CNN. I don’t think what he said warrants him being suspended, but then again, I am not gay so the comments he made doesn’t hit close to home with me. I guess saying a homosexual shouldn’t be so sensitive is like a non-black person saying I shouldn’t be so sensitive if I am called the “n-word”. Well, let’s see how this one plays out with Roland. Anyways, I always speak about the importance of the black community having our own infrastructure. This is another example. He also works for black-owned TV network TVOne. If he is not suspended or fired from there, I will be back to say, “I told you so!”

Read the full story here… http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/cutline/cnn-suspends-roland-martin-over-offensive-super-bowl-195422269.html

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2012 8:52 pm

    Speaking of infrastructure, there is the existence of National Association of Black Journalists of which Roland Martin is member. If CNN was going to respond to one advocacy group, should they have not consulted with another? Can’t say I believed Martin’s soccer explanation, but why did it not carry any weight in his defense (sense he came up with it so quick). Tweet patterns can be verified. Did the soccer patten not exist?

    Also when making the observation that GLAAD immediately asked that Martin be removed from only CNN, had to ask if their advocacy only extended to major network since TJMS and TVOneTV were not mentioned in their original tweet. Why was peripheral so limited?

  2. February 8, 2012 9:15 pm

    he comments that Roland made where deemed “homophobic” by who? GLADD needs to be worried about the young man that was viciously attacked in Atlanta by a group of thugs that assumed he was gay b/c of his attire. This would be a great topic of conversation, not a conversation about a tweet. Not everything is homophobic just like not everything is racist. These networks/companies/corporations need to get a backbone and stop folding to groups like GLADD and PETA. CNN’s viewership might go down…do they not know that ppl tune in just to see him. Makes no sense to me!

  3. Iris Bradley permalink
    February 8, 2012 9:28 pm

    This goes to show that we have to be careful what we say online. Our personal opinions should be just that and when you are a public person you can not say what you want unless you can stand the heat. However I do not think there is any comparison between homosexuality and race. We do not chose our race and I believe homosexuality is a choice. Yes I said it and I stand by what I believe.

  4. Iris Bradley permalink
    February 8, 2012 9:29 pm

    I forgot to mention that I like Roland and I hope he gets his job back.

  5. February 9, 2012 12:35 am

    Ok, am I missing something. If a black person is called the N word depending on where and by whom yes it can be offensive. However, I’m puzzled as to when the word “dude” equated homosexual!

    Is his comments the understood and why because a group of people say so? A group that stated they went back into his history and connected a written article of his with this tweet and suggested his rhetoric was to them.

    If his tone was serious and with authority by all means check him for being a compelling voice to excite real violence against another human being.

    The black actor that found himself fired for saying the Q word, that is crystal clear he said a word equated to the N word.

    This, I think people that are not offended will be the ones to understand that we are looking at the welding of a whole lot of power and using twitter without understanding that power is like walking into a death chamber. Dare I say, I’m just saying!

  6. February 9, 2012 5:03 am

    I agree Roland shouldn’t have been suspended. Roland is in a profession where his thoughts and opinions carry weight I’m sure he will be a lil mo careful in the future…oh btw Professor I did a little research a few months back and TVOne is actually owned by for profit arm of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints- yeah I was floored when I read the info- they have Cathy Hughes and her son in the forefront, they also own a few other black media outlets.

  7. February 13, 2012 7:10 pm

    What Happened to Freedom of Speech??

Leave a Reply

