Skip to content

What happens when our leaders are not trustworthy?

January 11, 2012

Let's get the deal done!

Our leaders have the platform and has the ear of, in some cases, millions of Blacks. But what happens when these leaders only speak to Blacks but are influenced by non-blacks? The thing about Black people is we are trusting and full of “rational ignorance”. I know, how can someone be rationally ignorant? It would sound like an oxymoron, right? You may think, ignorance can never be rational! Well, it is at times. It is a term in business where the cost of research is higher than the cost of complying. In other words, the cost of knowing is higher than the cost of doing. So here’s the issue for us. Because we trust our “leaders” so much, we don’t do research and find out information for ourselves. We take what our leaders say as honest and in our best interest. But my concern is what happens when these leaders have their own personal interest at heart?

I’ve been told on numerous occasions that I could be rough around the edges. I can firmly say, this roughness comes in the form of honesty. If I can’t do something, I don’t say I can and I expect the same from other people. I won’t tell people that a product or service is good, meanwhile it goes against your best interest. That’s where people tend to view me as “rough”. It is because many of the Blacks with knowledge, power and money often use it for their own personal gain. They tell those who believe and respect them, what to do, even when it goes against the true depth of the “black benefit”. On the surface it seems good because it feels good, but over the long-term it doesn’t move us any closer to self-sustainability. We’ve lost ownership of television programs, magazines, restaurants, you know, the “influentials”. We’ve even lost the ownership of beauty supply stores but remain 96% of the customers. Tell me where in this world a black-owned business can get an Asian to endorse them entering the marketplace and still retain 96% of the Asian customers. Can’t even say it’s their fault.

I listen to prominent Blacks endorse companies that compete or damage the community or other black businesses, because of the instant pay-off for them, then their followers support these companies. I heard it this morning. But I truly think non-blacks have figured it out. All it takes is to find the Negro who will sell the black community short; who would sell their loyalty for a dollar. There are plenty of us trampling around. It is synonymous to the house Negro telling the master of the escape plot or the suck-up guarding the other slaves picking cotton. Is it really our destiny to be destitute (Powerless, Poor, and Pessimists)? At this rate, we will never recover as a group. Actually, at this rate we may have been better off as slaves. At least then we had an excuse. I know how the criticism goes. I will be called a radical because I am not sitting on a syndicated network speaking to millions daily and what I teach (and preach) is uncomfortable and outside of the flow of “black traffic”. Yeah, I know you will probably say, “C’mon Professor, aren’t we passed that? Does everything have to be racial?” My response is, “No it doesn’t, I am not the one making it a race-based case…”

The Professor: Author
“Rebuilding the Black Infrastructure: Making America a Colorless Nation”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Indira Williams permalink
    January 11, 2012 4:18 pm

    I agree with what you are saying. I feel that the state of Black America is a sad situation because even though we have progressed since slavery in that we are no longer slaves we continue to have the mindset of a slave which believed that we are inferior. Only few of us today have the mindset of the slave that recognized that we are not inferior and did something about it Whether it was escape, educate themselves etc… there seems to be a lack of motivation in the black community to do something themselves that will relinquish them from economic state that they are in. I believe a lot this starts from the home when we are children. We look at the conditions we are surrounded in and if the adults in our lives feel powerless that they cannot do anything about it they pass it down to their children and it becomes a never ending cycle of negativity, and a common ideologic thinking that others are the blame for the state of the black community.

  2. Donna B. permalink
    January 11, 2012 7:51 pm

    You are right……unfortunately Blacks have become to accustomed to not think for themselves & allow others to speak for them.

  3. mark freeman permalink
    January 12, 2012 3:12 pm

    real talk King…from the chain to the brain…we have become our worst enemy…

  4. January 17, 2012 5:26 pm

    Wisdom as usual…but what I am perplexed about is that so many of us know this to be true and recognize that “something” needs to be done. Continuing in the direction is not a viable option. It takes a restructuring of the thinking process as well as coming out of our comfort zone to make sacrifices that brings us out of this situation. All you can do is to alert people. People need to be truthful within themselves and asses how far they are willing to go to make that change. I find so many people doing their own little causes thinking it is sufficient because they are doing something-but it doesn’t have as great an impact as it can when we can devise a collective work. It takes finances to grow, but how many are willing to throw their finances into the pot- rightfully so who will oversee those finances-who is trustworthy enough to be good stewards of those finances.

    I myself had to relocate back to my original hometown from Atlanta recently because of an elderly mother that needed me. My finances was zilch because of the move. But now that I am working again I would be willing to throw my money into a pot where we could create a bigger pot of investment whereby a Board could be created to target certain activities in certain areas that would generate more revenue to invest in businesses that benefit our people. And right now the only one I would trust to have the character and dignity is Professor Devin. I don’t know something needs to be done…

    Formerly of Facebook…
    Philip Chan Bridges

  5. January 17, 2012 5:54 pm

    If you really think about it, these organizations that are existing are committing the same offenses. I look at the NAACP’s, Urban Leagues…these groups exist because of the destitute state of Black America, the leaders who hold these positions would be out of jobs if we weren’t where we are and who is financially backing these organizations. I know locally the NAACP building exist but is never manned…the “Director” consistently has her picture in the local black newspaper but no one answers the phones or return phone calls. I have even had a relative of the Director pass along a message, but I am still waiting 6 mo later. I have called the National line and did speak with someone who promised to get back with me again 6 mo later no response. As long as these people have jobs they don’t care. Black businesses do not give back but constantly complain that not enough blacks support them. they have no plan of giving back or re-investing but will seize every opportunity to take advantage of you. They maintain these “I got mine, you get yours mentality”. They buy the finest cars and homes as well as clothes and have the nerve to look down upon those less fortunate. How will we overcome as a people?

Leave a Reply

