Skip to content

Tom Joyner fires Tavis Smiley and attacks him and Dr. Cornel West

July 4, 2011

Emotions are high when it comes to how the President is handling his office. What makes emotions stir even more is how Blacks become divided on whether President Obama should be criticized publicly or criticized at all. Well, my friend Tom Joyner has taken his position to his checkbook and fired longtime analyst Tavis Smiley, and has apparently cut him off from even being a friend.

Those that know me personally, know that I admire Tom 2000%! I even applied to become a commentator on his show after Tavis left his regular post, but I was beat out by Jeff Johnson and Stephanie Robinson (at least a Robinson is in the seat). I think his “party with a purpose” is brilliant, his daily black history facts are on point, and his Real Fathers-Real Men is what we really need!

His support of the President is probably equally as strong as my support for him, thus he finally reached his breaking point over Tavis and Dr. West’s crusade of criticism for the President. Tom took it to his blog and publicly announced his intent. Should Blacks keep political disputes private?

Read below…

My New D-Word for Tavis and Cornel

By: Tom Joyner, Syndicated Radio Host

Before I get to Mark Halperin, let me give you a little background.

They say that if you’re angry with someone, you should write a letter, get all the mean stuff out, and then tear it up or delete it. When you’re a little more calm, you write another letter or confront the person face to face.

About a month ago, I wrote a blog about Tavis Smiley and decided to table it because I said some things I didn’t want to publish. You’re probably thinking I went too hard him, but no. In reality, I hadn’t gone hard enough – and I knew it. I said I’d wait until something pissed me off so bad that I would have the words harsh enough to express what I was really feeling about him and his side piece – I mean side kick – Cornel West.

Well, yesterday, when Mark Halperin – a well-respected journalist, employed by a well-respected magazine and a contributor to a well-respected news network – had the audacity to call the president of the United States a dick, that was all I needed.

While I am appalled at Halperin’s statement, I have no expectations of him as a man and know nothing about his character. I am appalled, however, that as editor-at-large of Time magazine, he is responsible for among other things, deciding what stories will be covered in that publication. As the person in charge of political content, it is upsetting to know that he probably has not been objective in his dealings with material I and so many people look forward to (until now) reading each week. Needless to say, I’ve cancelled my subscription to Time magazine and hope you will too.

But I’m even more disgusted with Smiley and West, two brothers who I did have expectations of – and thought I knew. These two have done much worse than what Halperin has done because they set the tone for it, opened the door to it, and must take much of the blame for creating a climate that would make a white, professional journalist feel comfortable verbally and vulgarly attacking the first black president of the United States.

When you think you know a person, when you’ve given a person a forum to present his views, when you’ve had a hand in a person’s success, you want to believe that he is the same person he always was.

Remember THAT Tavis – the one who could take any complicated political story that had an impact on black America and “break it down” for us every Tuesday and Thursday in less than five minutes. The one who coined the phrase “radio advocacy” and alerted us any time anyone – from a private business owner to a politician to a corporate giant – even thought about doing black folks wrong. The Tavis that loved black people so much that he would sometimes, during his commentaries, be moved to tears. Where is that guy? You know, the guy that would have been telling me, “Fly Jock, Halperin has got to go.” For a while, I thought he was still with us, even though people around me (and many of you) tried to convince me otherwise. “Tavis is a hater.” “Tavis is only about himself.” “Tavis is jealous of the president.” I wouldn’t believe any of it. I had so much respect for him before his primary goal became selling books, and, later, selling out.

As we approach the Fourth of July weekend, one that celebrates our freedoms, including freedom of speech, I wish someone would use that as a defense of what Tavis, Cornel and Mark Halperin have said against our president. When dangerous words incite and brew up hatred and violence, there is a line. And these three crossed it.

In case you believe I think Tavis and Cornel called the president an offensive name, I don’t. I think they did something even worse. Any black people with any sense know that racists on the job, at school, at church or on the bus wait for opportunities to feel comfortable enough to spew their evil thoughts. If a black person tells a racist joke in front of a racist or laughs at one, it won’t be long before the racist begins to fire off a couple of his own. Mark Halperin and others are no different. They hate the president because he is black, and Tavis and Cornel, by not having the sense to not give them the opening they waited for, went all in. And this is what we get.

So, yes, MSNBC, fire Mark Halperin. I hope he never works again. I’ve already fired Tavis and Cornel. There’s nothing either can ever do for me or with me again.

I’ve got a new D-word for the two of them: Done. ~ Tom Joyner, The Fly Jock

38 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2011 4:30 pm

    BRAVO TO THE FLY JOCK MR. TOM JOYNER for your continue support to stand strong and proud for our first family, and the black communities. Why, just Why do we need to continue with this type of behavior in our days, where we All are hurting and dying. When will it stop, and When will we stand up and take a stand on what is Right and stop all this BS and move forward in our lives. There is so much I can say, but I will back Tom Joyner decision in this concern. One thing I am proud of about Mr. Tom Joyner, he has always said what’s on his mind and even better, Tom has always showed ACTION. Be True to who you are, because being True makes a different in other’s lives…Thank You Tom for keeping it REAL, people wake up and stand behind Our President Obama !!!

  2. Rachel Casimir permalink
    July 5, 2011 1:11 pm

    Well, Professor Devin,
    For the first time I have known you, I totally disagree with your views on this issue. Have you ever heard of “Change Agent” if not please look it up. That is what I see the President as. I would like you to stop and think for a minute. Look around you, do you like what you see? I really would like you to stop looking at the President as a “Black man” and look at him for who he really is. I must say professor, you too have a lot to learn.

  3. Leon permalink
    July 5, 2011 1:37 pm

    The FLy Jock. I am with you on this one.

  4. Dezz permalink
    July 5, 2011 5:03 pm

    I find it ironic that people that urged voters to see past color and vote for who they think would do the best job as president is now using the race card to ignore the fact that Obama’s policies and practices have put people (yes including black people) in a worse position than we were in before his term. To even discuss race in the realm of national and international politics is a slap in the face to what actually matters. The black community was the first to criticize Bush when they didn’t agree with his decisions but when it’s done to Obama, the black community cries foul. Martin Luther King Jr. fought for our rights to be treated just like everyone else. That includes people First Amendment right to say whatever they want, which means that pendulum swings both ways, just as we should be free to say what we want, you have to be ok with allowing others to say what they want as well. To want to exclude the president from the “list of people/things we’re allowed to complain about freely” is to tarnish the legacy that our ancestors fought and died for. President Obama does not represent the entirety of black people in this country. It’s ok not to like him. He’s just a man with a position.

    • Susan permalink
      October 30, 2012 10:43 pm

      Why are you so blinded by the media?? President Obama has been the “most” attacked and criticized President in History… Yes, President Bush made some very bad decisions concerning this Country’s economy, military interests, etc… We are still paying for the debt he created and we are still experiencing the effects of the Bush Administration. However, we as African Americans were taught many, many, many moons ago to “not” like ourselves but hate one another during the slavery. Therefore, I totally understand the position you take. You don’t like the President because he looks just like you, your Father, your Uncle, and Your Grandfather… Learn to love yourself and the skin you are in and you will eventually love others that look, resemble, or may simply have a few ounces of black blood in your system. And yes, it is okay fully Support President Obama. You say we are in even a worse position with the Obama Administration but just let he Republicans get in the White House again… Say goodbye to Medicaid programs for your nieces and nephews, say goodbye to Social Security and Medicare, say goodbye to Women being able to choose what’s in their best interest… The Republicans will cut, cut, cut, until all of the social programs are wiped completely away.. Think about it.. And yes, Praise God for the First Amendment.. I am able to inform others just like yourself.

      • Patrick permalink
        November 14, 2012 5:19 pm

        I think your comment of Dezz post is way off base. I love being black, but I don’t fully support Obama, in fact on a lot of subjects I don’t like him at all. Obama is just like every other politician, his father is just closer to Africa then theirs. It is not fair to attack people because they say they don’t like him. Dezz said was it is okay not to like him and you start saying that he isn’t happy with himself as a black person. That couldn’t be further from the truth. Because I love myself, but my last four years looked the same as the four years before that. Obama signed the NDAA, he extended the patriot act, and he lied about bringing the troops home amongst other things. I am actually an obama fan in current politics, but I am objective. You didn’t answer his call or questions in any way. So I would ask you to inform yourself, stop watching MSNBC, because they are the other extreme of FOXNEWS. Abraham Lincoln was treated worse than obama has been, and we threatened to kill bush every day. Tom regularly called him an idiot, if you are going to do it to one president you should be able to do it to another. What has obama done for you besides have melanin in his skin. He was raised white, educated white, indeed his only connection to black people is his wife. Have you read his books, have you read his policies, you are defending a man you don’t know because you believe he shares something with you that isn’t their. It is okay to critize obama, because he is a politician and he should be held to the same standards. And I voted for obama before you call me a hater.

    • maggie permalink
      May 2, 2013 1:10 am

      i dont know why people are blameing the president he have done all he can the repub. are all people that dont care about poor people even the black repub. dont care i dont care if you are a democrate or republican you should be for whoever are for the right and care about others like the bible say how can you say that you love me,(the lord) and hate your brother. and anyone that is blaming the president is blaming the wrong one i think that you should blame the republicans because the put up blocks to every thing that he tries to do because they dont want him to help poor and blacks. just think how much better things would be if they would let him do what he try to do. to all the blacks that talk about the president you better think about how bless you are now than if a republican was the president you know one think i can say is the white people are ahead because the stick together, but we dont (blacks) because we dont want to see others get ahead. the lord say he will bless you so you can bless others so if you are not bless it is because you are not a blessing to others. so when you blame the president for what you dont have, you have to blame yourselfs. just remember the meeting that the republican had a meeting the night that pesident was sworn in they said that the was going to see to it that he is aone term prez. that is why the are blocking him in every thing he trie to do.

  5. Chad permalink
    July 5, 2011 6:18 pm

    Black people have become blinded by the fact that we have a Black President, and blinded to the fact that the equality gap has widened, and Blacks are still suffering or in many cases worse off. Why does Pres. Obama get a pass from being held accountable for his policies or lack of policies that affect the lives of black people? We’re behind the eightball in several categories, and having a Black President SHOULD be more than historical significance.

    • A.Williams permalink
      February 6, 2012 6:54 pm

      do you really think these white politician is going to do more for you?

  6. Sharon permalink
    July 5, 2011 9:08 pm

    I agree with Rachel Casimir & Chad. Black folks all over the US are looking at the color of Obama’s skin and not the content of his character. What has he done for black folks lately, better yet what has he done for you lately????? That’s what I thot. Wake up black folks!!!!

    • Rod permalink
      July 6, 2011 1:43 pm

      I don’t know what the big fuss is about. What about freedom of speech? To me Joyner is just acting like a tyrant. Just because somebody critisizes the president that doesn’t mean that person is a racist, or a sell out, they’re just being totally honest. I’m not a fan of joyner, tavis, or obama, but I think it’s safe to say that obama is no different from any other president. They’re only here to serve the interests of the corporations and banks, while they pretend to serve the people and spread false hope. Just my opinion.

  7. BKL permalink
    July 5, 2011 10:37 pm

    Hi Tom. You are a hero of mine for all your work to help black people. As far as this post on your blog, I’m torn. I don’t like it when I hear African Americans speak against Pres. Obama either, but racists aren’t waiting to hear what Tavis or Dr. West say about Pres. Obama to feel comfortable enough to disrespect him. They have Rush Limbaugh, Shawn Hannity, Neal Boortz, Glenn Beck and many other conservative radio show hosts for that. African Americans are catching an inordinate amount of hell, and Pres. Obama’s line about the rising tide lifting all boats is just not enough. I applaud much of what Pres. Obama has done. I registered voters and put strangers in my car to go to the polls to vote for him. He needs to do more. When the LGTB community shouts, he responds. When the rich yell, he responds. Why can’t “Black America” ask for some help without being ostricized in our own community?
    Please talk your differences out with Tavis and Dr. West in private. I hope you can forgive Tavis for leaving your show. Honestly, it appears that that is what your blog is really about. God bless you, Tom, and keep up the good work on the TJMS.

  8. TPM permalink
    July 6, 2011 12:53 pm

    Man, after all the blood, sweat, tears, dead and near dead bodies that it took just to GET a black President, let us not tear each other apart now! I don’t have to like you to unite with you for getting a task accomplished. If there is the possibility that we can solve our problems by putting all these “so-called” great minds and influential people together, let’s put aside the literal name calling and get it done. Let whoever wants to take the credit do so…is there an answer for how we can reposition ourselves, get the jobs back in the US and move ahead? I really don’t want to wallow in the backbiting.

  9. aya permalink
    July 6, 2011 6:21 pm

    Right on Tom!! I lost respect for Tavis during Pres. Obama’s campaign…there was something strange about his energy when it came to Obama in 2008. What is hurtful is Dr. West…I have admired the Dr.’s intelligence and telling it like it is blackness for years! Hold your head up Tom, we all have to weed out our gardens periodically. Next we’ll see Tavis standing by Michael Steele the “head token overseer”. Our president is not running this country alone…i’m sure he’s shocked at the disrespect he recieves on a daily basis in the White House and around the country. Does Tavis and West not remember the Republican led congress shooting down everything the Pres. tried to initiate to help low income people? They know the political process so that leads me to believe that there is some envy going on and these types of brothers are the product of slavery! Its really sad that they don’t have enough respect to air their grievences in a decent way about the leader of the free world…a black man.

    Keep up the good work Tom…let “step & fetch it” get their own garden to destroy…keep them outta yours!!!!

    Peace

  10. July 7, 2011 12:58 am

    What is so sad is that no matter how much other family groups dislike one another they ALWAYS stick together against a known and common threat! During the Presidential campaign I thought I heard Tavis say something that smacked like envy, smelled like envy and when I looked up it was the “green eyed envy monster!!!”

    TJMS
    Tom I applaud your efforts to stick to your platform and by standing your ground- BRAVO! One must separate the wheat from the chafe. Cohesiveness, common views based upon common views of those legendary enemies. Those just waiting to throw muck and yuck, showing, that it’s all they can make (trouble) from the git-go while hiding behind these common place facades and plastic grins.

    Our President has done his level “BEST” to move forward past the exterior and has done an admiral job at dispensing services through the often overly HARSH criticisms he has had to face just to “DO” his job. These Republicans have time and again thwarted our Presidents attempts to right many wrongs! But to have your own folks put salt on your tail, ride on your back weighing you down with so much nonsense and twisted rhetoric! Reminds me of a Mythical God who rules with compassion…, when in battle, each time they threw him down he rose back up stronger! So let them talk, let them talk, let them say what they want to say—JUST NOT ON YOUR SHOW!

    Yeshimebet A.E.MAYS

  11. Beautibee permalink
    July 10, 2011 10:51 pm

    Thanks Tom for taking your stand against those like Tavis and West. It’s the principal not necessarily the person. As far as what any president has done for me is not the question for black folks but what have you taken advantage of given the more numerous opportunities afforded to us than our parents. So all this President Obama ain’t doing nothing for blacks, maybe he is by making us do something for ourselves instead of waiting for someone to open a door and take us by the hand. We have a high drop out rate, a high prison drop in rate. What?! What?! When we start helping each other, lifting up each other on a DAILY (just a smile, a hello, thank you, did you know about….) basis, then maybe we won’t need a President or anyone to ‘do something for black folks’ but let us pass!

  12. August 2, 2011 12:46 am

    This whole situation is very sad if you ask me. I am sorry, but I didn’t get the memo that said no black person is supposed to criticize President because he’s the first black president. I will always have respect for our President, but I refuse to idolize him or any other president. I will always pray for President Obama, but I believe that people like Tavis & West are necessary. We need people in office and prophetic voices outside of the halls of power to hold our leaders accountable. Black people, ask yourself this question, “are you better off today than you were 3 years ago?” And yes, I know one man cannot solve all our problems, but we all know if a Republican was in power, or even a white Democrat, we would applaud those bold enough to speak truth to power. I will continue to be a fan of Tavis, West, & Joyner. This “beef” is totally unnecessary. All black people should not have to think alike. That’s the beauty of the First Amendment!

  13. Gregory Sain permalink
    August 14, 2011 2:13 pm

    Tom Joyner, Steve Harvey and many others are going to regret defending Barack Obama, because he’s the first” Jewish President” Not one of them have a clue politically nor spiritually as to what corruption these so-called “First Black President
    Has been apart of, as he has ONLY benefited the wealthy and rich corporate america.
    When you see CON men like pitiful Al Sharpton going in and out the White’s house,
    You know something is totally wicked and wrong with that picture. Tom Joyner nor Steve Harvey truly qualified or knowledgeable on issues that effect black people.
    Both are clowns that have mainly, stupid and shallow garbage on every day.
    Obama like fake Bill Clinton are weak when it comes to strong Black Men.
    Attorney Thomas Todd out of Chicago was 200% correct “President Barack Obama represents only THREE Things, Hope, Pride and History.”

    • Sherwood permalink
      September 30, 2011 8:32 pm

      Well said Mr Sain!

  14. yolanda permalink
    October 11, 2011 12:50 pm

    Some of us still haven’t learned to keep our critics of The President among ourselves.

    • Iyedouble permalink
      February 22, 2012 12:58 pm

      But this IS “ourselves”… albeit behind an un-curtained and opened window. Unfortunately, we don’t have these type of discussions at my dinner table because in my house the views are similar. But push my table up against yours and then up against theirs and so on and so on, this is the platform we get. Appreciate the many angles and respect the variety… it’s either that or find a way to educate and keep abreast “our own” to the underground slang of patois, creole, or the drums for covert communications. Times have changed, the Sweet Chariots no longer sing as low as they used to.

  15. October 26, 2011 10:01 pm

    There seems to be a misunderstanding! People think Pres. Obama can wave a magic won and change the world in a day. Don’t be so ignorant and delusional. If Tavis and Cornell want to protest, start will all the black mayors, state, government officials CBC. We have top start taking care of our own. Look at all the violence in our cities, our brothers going crazy. We need to demand better education, schools, services, and better parenting. Some of these kids are buck wild. Also, get involved your community, stop looking for someone else to do it! Tony is on point! However, we (Tavis, Cornell, Tom, Al Sharpton, ect….) We just have to make up, find center, and move forward. Jimmy B

  16. Mississippi Riley permalink
    October 29, 2011 6:29 pm

    Family. Strong families builds strong communities, a strong community can lead to a strong nation. The breakdown of the family shows it’s ugly head all over the world and the world is in chaos not just african americans. Let’s start there with our family and see if our community gets any better.

  17. Gregory Stewart permalink
    November 21, 2011 10:39 am

    I can’t believe what I just read!
    You mean to tell me Tom Joyner would destroy a person just because of their self-entitled opinion of the President? Black or white Tavis Smiley has all the right to voice his opinion of the current administration.
    This is a classic case of, “Shut yo mouth son, massa gonna hear you”, please Tom Joyner you are a hypocrite for doing this to Smiley, and West.
    To think I backed you and blasted Clear Channel when they fired you and hired Steve Harvey.
    I told myself I would not ever again listen to another Clear Channel station, deleted iHeart app from my iPhone because of support for you, I was wrong!!

    • Pamela Angulo permalink
      January 11, 2012 3:01 am

      #Gregory Stewart…apparently you haven’t heard, Tom is back on the air in Chicago because of listener demand.

      Regarding President Obama and Tavis Smiley–why are you such a hipocrite? Tavis is publicly criticizing the President…and for what–because he wasn’t invited to the White House? And,for various, justifiable reasons, Tom is criticizing Tavis…what’s the problem with that? Now, according to you Tom does not have the right to criticize Tavis. To use your words, this is a classic case of“Shut yo mouth son, massa gonna hear you.”Freedom of speech means you have the right to voice your opinions–it does not mean people will like what you say! In this situation, Tom Joyner did not like what Tavis and to say and therefore, he was fired–that was Tom’s right. Tom refused to give Tavis a platform to say what he wanted to about the President–how difficult is that to understand?

      If Tavis Smiley and Cornel West want to criticize the President, they should secure their own platform to do so. Additionally, they should be prepared to reap criticism for doing so.

      It’s important to understand, Mr. Stewart, freedom “ain’t” free.

      • Gregg Stewart permalink
        January 11, 2012 12:37 pm

        I agree with the part about “being able to voice your opinion”.
        Hmm, wasn’t Tavis doing just that?

        Look I live in the Chicago area, I had breakfast at Valois this past weekend.(Valois is one of the many spots in Hyde Park the prez visits in Hyde Park).
        There are people who frequent the place who are the biggest of Obama supporters, and a lot of them don’t feel the same way they once did back in 2008.
        Simply said Obama like anyone else is open to criticizism, I think being that he is up for re-election he should sharpen his game, as many are already sharpening their swords!
        Tom Joyner asked the public at large awhile back to basically boycott Clear Channel for doing what is done everyday in the business world, “re-structure”.
        That didn’t sit to well with ole Tom though, no sir-ee, he tried to form a lench mob to disgrace a company for doing what they thought was the best thing for the company at that time.
        So Pam no Tom Joyner is the hypocrite, and also a control freak, who lashes out at anyone that doesn’t share his ideology.
        Tom should let the people speak, and I think this time around they just might!!

      • Pamela Angulo permalink
        January 11, 2012 7:00 pm

        So what else is new? (By the way, it’s Pamela, not Pam.) I don’t feel the same way about my son as I did four years ago–nothing new. Things change, situations evolve–I’m not surprised people’s opinions of the President have undergone some changes–welcome to the real world.

        This country has undergone a enormous amount of change in case you hadn’t noticed. I want my President to be focused on getting this nation back on track after being driven (let’s say it altogether now) into a ditch–more like a canyon!!! I do not want my President having to be concerned about one or two individuals who are doing all they can to get attention for their own personal satisfaction and benefit. Power will cause a person to lose their mind in their effort to gain it…I think this is what has happened to Tavis and his side kick, Cornel. They will go as far as to appear on Fox to air their complaints against the President–the birther channel and major opposition that has proven time and again to show the utmost disrespect towards our President. And now they wonder why Black people are disgusted with them?

        Tavis and Cornel rank right up there with Joe “YOU LIE” Wilson in my eyesight–with their litany of accusations and compliants that are suspect at best. It’s disgusting to hear grown men cry, especially when it involves them not getting their way. They need to suck it up and move on–they’re not getting their way this time.

        Regarding Cornel…the 60′s called, they want their raised black fist back. He’s so 20th century and has become an embarrassment to Black people in the 21st entury–we’re moving on…Mr. West should too.

        Obama 2012!

      • Gregg Stewart permalink
        January 12, 2012 7:50 am

        First off, I was an Obama staffer, and I am still an Obama supporter, but extreme censorship, and Black Panther-like moves by Mr. Joyner has turned me against his show, I don’t care to listen to it, because obviously anyone on his show has been sterilized, and have no original flavor.
        Fearing the wrath of Tom Joyner guests will rather talk about any topic other than square off with him on political views unfavorable to his way of thinking, hmmmm, Kim Jong-il is that you?

        Sorry Pamela this is America, not North Korea!

  18. January 28, 2012 11:51 pm

    YEAH GO AHEAD, THAT’S ALL WE NEED IS A SO-CALLED TRIBAL WAR. HAVE THE NATIVES AT EACH OTHER’S THROATS. AS IF HE HAS ENOUGH TO DEAL WITH OTHERS OUTSIDE OF OUR ETHNIC GROUP. DON’T GET ME WRONG, OBAMA HAS DONE SOME THINGS THAT I DON’T AGREE WITH, BUT DAMN IF THAT’S THE CASE, I’LL VOTE FOR SOMEONE ELSE, AND THAT IS THE END OF IT. THESE ARE GUYS THAT ARE IN THE THE SO-CALLED SPOTLIGHT, THEY ARE EDUCATED, AND VERY SMART. PUT YOUR HEADS TOGETHER AND WORK IT OUT, DON’T CREATE ALL THIS OTHER NONSENSE, THAT’S ALL OBAMA’S ENEMIES, AND OURS, NEED. I GUESS IT IS TRUE ABOUT US NOT SUPPORTING EACH OTHER

    • PJunita permalink
      January 31, 2012 1:54 pm

      Please stop with your global response and direct your anger-filled response (as indicated by your use of all CAPS) to the two people that deserve it most–Tavis and Cornel.

  19. February 11, 2012 10:59 pm

    I have the right to agree or disagree with whomever I want, publicly or privately. The President himself will NOT disagree with me.

    They (Tom,Tavis, Cornel) are public people with opinions who simply have the resources to voice their opinions publicly.

    I sincerely hope that no one here allows the opinions of people who criticize them, to discourage them from doing their job or reaching whatever goal it is they are trying to reach.

    Personally I think the President is doing a fine job at ignoring the very BS we are discussing. Tavis and Cornel are NOT the only black people criticizing our President. (PUBLICLY)

    Does Herman Cain get a pass to do so since he’s Republican? What if Condoleeza Rice and Colon Powell decided to question something the President is doing? Do they get a pass because they’re Republican?

    Public or Private, everybody is entitled to their opinion just as much as everyone is entitled to ignore the opinions of others.

    There may be fault (somewhere) in what I just posted (maybe a few typos or misspellings even) but these are the facts: I have the right to agree or disagree with whomever I want, publicly or privately….and they are undisputed.

  20. February 11, 2012 11:05 pm

    By the way, my answer to your question, Professor Devin, is no.

  21. October 22, 2012 8:17 am

    History is best qualified to reward Our research, and it shows Us that both Tom Joiner and Barack Obama are traitors to Black and poor people as a whole. Their only interest lies with the selected “good Black People” (otherwise identified as the so-called middle-class), and they are completely desecrating the legacy of Dr. King by refusing to take a life or death stand against poverty. It is pitiful that so many people are deceived by these charlatans, but I take solace in the fact that the nature of the bloodsucking, dog-eat-dog system of capitalism will drive them to reality soon. For those of you whom may still be confused on what exactly it is that Dr. king was assassinated for, I urge you to see my comments on the death-dealing photo that was circulated with Martin, Obama and Malcolm in it, which I have on my Fazebook Wall via the link below. WAAAAKKKKEEE UUUPPPPPPPP!!!!!!!!

    http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=190720021040675&set=a.190720014374009.39374.100003080369443&type=1&theater

  22. Lynn Smith permalink
    November 19, 2012 6:20 pm

    It’s sad that Tavis & West have succumbed to taking the money road. You can make money without selling your soul. Sad, sad, sad lost.

  23. D Givan permalink
    December 9, 2012 4:09 pm

    I remember the ’08 primaries when Tavis was saying everyone needs to be held accountable and don’t just vote for someone because of their race. I believe that’s when all of this really began. I don’t necessarily agree with everything Tavis had to say then, and don’t agree with everything now but that’s one thing I did agree with him on. To say that the president hasn’t had a misstep throughout his tenure I not the truth. Tom doesn’t talk about those things publicly and just because Tavis and Dr West choose to talk about some of the things they don’t agree with and holds the president accountable publicly doesn’t make them wrong or house n words. I voted for the president twice. Not because he’s black, but because he was what I felt would be the best candidate for the job that needed to done for the sake of the country and not just black folk.

  24. Julio permalink
    February 28, 2013 11:46 pm

    You know” People really did n”t like Tavis anyway. He had a talk show that was given to Sinbad, the people who took over BET fired his ass and now the fly jock has followed suit. I feel that he thinks he is more than what he really is. When Tom Joyner came to his defense after getting fired from BET He should have come back down to earth THEN” I never liked him as an interviewer and I never liked his style. i would replace him with Jay Anthony Brown in a heartbeat. Much love to ya Fly jock & company” Tavis Smiley , F You”

  25. Sandra Roberts permalink
    December 9, 2013 8:16 am

    Wow. Why did they wait so late to say that Steve Harvey would be replacing Tom? Tavis has hurting opinions about our President. And people who love President Obama’s not paying attention to Travis anyway. I disagree with replacing Tom Joyner. I say keep the man on his sration! He gives you what you need in mire wats than one. The radio station is making a big mistake. We love you Tom Joyner <3

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers